Share  share Print  print


Members of the Leadership Alliance include thirty-four of the nation’s leading research and teaching academic institutions and one associate member from industry. Member institutions from the academic community are highly diverse in geographic distribution and range in student population from roughly 1,000 to more than 50,000. A core value of each institution is an intimate scholarly relationship built upon student-faculty mentoring, through which opportunities for undergraduate research in the biological, physical and social sciences as well as the humanities are promoted. 

The Alliance welcomed its first Associate Member, Novartis Institutes for BioMedical Research (NIBR), in 2013. Novartis will be involved in development of an external advisory board, through which Associate Members will provide advice on matters related to the development and implementation of fundraising, partnership and programmatic activities of the Alliance.

Each Alliance member is represented in the consortium by an institutional coordinator. Leadership Alliance coordinators are high-level administrators, faculty, staff or program managers at their respective member institution or organization. The coordinators meet twice yearly (spring and fall) to discuss and develop programs, evaluate efforts and share news about student progress, institutional advances, and relevant policy issues.

The following list of member institutions includes the names and academic positions of the institutional coordinators.

Brooklyn College
Louise Hainline
Professor of Psychology

Brown University
Jabbar Bennett
Associate Dean, Graduate School

Chaminade University of Honolulu
Patricia M. Lee-Robinson
Associate Provost & Director of the Office of Student Opportunities

Claflin University
Roosevelt Ratliff, Jr.
Assistant Vice President for Academic Affairs

Columbia University
Andrea Solomon
Senior Associate Dean for Academic Administration

Cornell University
Laurel Southard
Director, Undergraduate Research

Dartmouth College
F. Jon Kull
Dean, Graduate Studies

Dillard University
John E. Wilson
Dean of Natural Sciences & Public Health

Harvard University
Sheila Thomas
Assistant Dean for Diversity & Minority Affairs

Heritage University
Winona Wynn
Associate Professor of Humanities

Howard University
Quinton L. Williams
Chair and Professor of Physics

Hunter College
John Rose
Dean for Diversity & Compliance

Johns Hopkins University
William Egginton
Vice Dean for Graduate Education

Montana State University
Jullian Collins
EMPower Associate Director

Morehouse College
Clarissa Myrick-Harris
Dean, Division of Humanities & Social Sciences

Morgan State University
Pamela Scott-Johnson
Interim Dean, College of Liberal Arts

New York University
Debra Szybinski
Executive Director, Office of Faculty Resources/Faculty Resource Network

Princeton University

Spelman College
Cynthia Neal Spence
Associate Professor, Sociology
Director, UNCF/Mellon Programs

Stanford University
Anika Green
Director of Educational Programs, Office of the Vice Provost for Graduate Education

Tougaloo College
Candice Love Jackson
Associate Provost/Assistant Vice President for Academic Affairs

Tufts University
Yvette Dalton-McCoy
Associate Director, Graduate Diversity Programs

University of Chicago
William A. McDade
Deputy Provost for Research & Minority Issues

University of Colorado Boulder
Mark Hernandez
Professor, Civil, Environmental & Architectural Engineering

University of Maryland, Baltimore County
Earnestine Baker
Ret. Assistant to the Vice President, Institutional Advancement;
Executive Director of the Meyerhoff Scholarship Program

University of Miami
Michael S. Gaines
Professor of Biology & Assistant Provost of Undergraduate Research & Community Outreach

University of Pennsylvania
Arnaldo Diaz
Assistant Dean for Research Training Programs; Adjunct Assistant Professor of Pharmacology, Office of Research Training Programs

University of Puerto Rico
Luis Raul Camara
Dean of Academic Affairs

University of South Florida
Richard Pollenz
Associate Dean, Undergraduate Studies; Professor & Director, Office for Undergraduate Research

University of Virginia
Phillip A. Trella
Assistant Vice President, Graduate Studies & Postdoctoral Affairs

Vanderbilt University
Don C. Brunson
Assistant Dean, Graduate School

Washington University in St. Louis
Rochelle D. Smith
Assistant Provost, Director, Diversity,
Summer Programs & Community Outreach

Xavier University of Louisiana
Gary Donaldson
Chair, American History

Yale University
Michelle Nearon
Assistant Dean & Director of the Office for Diversity & Equal Opportunity